Switch Language

UNDERSTAND PAIN

Understanding Knee Pain

When you suffer from knee pain, it can feel like you’ve been robbed of the activities you love to do most. Understanding your knee pain is the first step in figuring out how to get back to doing what you love the best you can.

WHAT IS KNEE PAIN?

Your knees — they're among the most important joints in your body. They support your weight and provide stability and a “hinge” to help keep your body moving. But between standing, walking, running, jumping, crouching and turning, it’s easy to see how there are plenty of ways to experience knee pain. Remember: See your doctor first before you begin any treatment or if your pain gets worse or persists.

WHAT CAUSES KNEE PAIN?

Some causes of knee pain include:

  • Injuries. Some common injuries include fractures in the knee bones, a torn meniscus (the rubbery cartilage between your thighbone and shinbone that absorbs shock), patellar tendinitis (inflammation and irritation of one or more tendons) and a torn ACL (anterior cruciate ligament), just to name a few.
  • Mechanical problems. Some examples include a dislocated kneecap; IT band syndrome (tightness of the iliotibial band of tissue running from the hip to the knee); and a loose body, or "floating" piece of bone or cartilage that breaks off in the joint space.

"Get back to doing what you love the best you can."

HOW CAN I GET RELIEF FROM KNEE PAIN?
a figure performing a stretching exercise inside a yellow circle
Exercises and stretching

Consult with your doctor to set up a treatment plan.

an illustrated bottle of Aleve® inside a yellow circle
Medication

Prescription and over-the-counter medications, like ALEVE®, can help relieve knee pain when used as directed. Just make sure you always check with your doctor before taking any medication.

ice and compression can help with swelling
Ice and compression

Compressing the area with bandages, in addition to applying ice 3-4 times a day for 10 minutes at a time, can keep swelling to a minimum.

steroid injections for long-term pain relief
Injections

These may include steroids for possible long-term pain relief, fluids that mimic the natural fluid that lubricates joints, and platelet-rich plasma to reduce inflammation and encourage healing.

an illustrated physician inside a yellow circle
Surgery

In some cases, surgery may be the best option, but it’s usually only considered after trying a variety of other things first. Only your doctor can make that determination.

illustration of person meditating inside a yellow circle
Supporting therapies

See what else you can do to complement your treatment and relieve knee pain.

TIPS YOU CAN USE RIGHT NOW

Maintain a healthy weight

Tip 1 of 3

Extra weight can put additional pressure on your joints and make knee pain worse. Even a 5% weight loss can make a difference and reduce stress on your knees. If you think you would benefit from weight loss, talk to your doctor about a sensible weight-loss program.

Strengthen your core

Tip 2 of 3

A strong core — abdominal, back and pelvic muscles — can help keep your knees where they should be in order to avoid joint compression and pain. A number of exercises can help strengthen the core, including yoga, Pilates and kickboxing. Work with your doctor or physical therapist to determine what exercises might be good choices for you.

Keep your knee compressed.

Tip 3 of 3

If you notice your knee is swollen as well as sore, compression might be a good way to speed up your recovery. Get an elastic bandage (such as an ACE wrap) and wrap it snugly around the area surrounding your sore knee. The bandage won’t protect or stabilize your knee, but it should reduce swelling. Be careful not to wrap it too tightly as this may cause more swelling.

Switch Language

COMPRENDRE LA DOULEUR

Comprendre la douleur au genou

La douleur au genou peut vous donner l’impression de devoir vous priver des choses que vous aimez. Comprendre la douleur au genou est la première étape pour déterminer les moyens à prendre afin de pratiquer à nouveau les activités qui vous plaisent.

QU’EST-CE QUE LA DOULEUR AU GENOU?

Les genoux sont parmi les articulations les plus importantes. Ils supportent le poids du corps et lui procurent de la stabilité. Ils servent également de « charnières » qui vous aident à bouger. Ils sont mis à contribution lorsque vous vous tenez debout, que vous marchez, courez, sautez, que vous vous penchez ou que vous tournez. On comprend donc facilement que de nombreuses causes peuvent être à l’origine d’une douleur. N’oubliez pas de consulter votre médecin avant d’entreprendre un traitement ou si votre douleur s’aggrave ou persiste.

QUELLES SONT LES CAUSES DE LA DOULEUR AU GENOU? 

Voici quelques-unes des causes de la douleur au genou : 

  • Traumatismes. Parmi les traumatismes courants, mentionnons les fractures des os du genou, les déchirures du ménisque (cartilage caoutchouteux entre le fémur et le tibia qui absorbe les chocs), la tendinite rotulienne (inflammation et irritation d’un ou de plusieurs tendons) et la déchirure du ligament croisé antérieur. 
  • Problèmes mécaniques. Ces problèmes incluent notamment la luxation de la rotule, le ressaut de la bandelette de Maissiat (raideur dans la bandelette de Maissiat qui s’étend de la hanche au genou), ou la présence d’un corps libre ou d’un morceau « flottant » d’os ou de cartilage qui se détache dans l’interligne articulaire. 

« Recommencez à faire ce que vous aimiez, du mieux que vous le pouvez. » 

COMMENT SOULAGER UNE DOULEUR AU GENOU?
figure faisant un exercice d’étirement dans un cercle jaune
Exercices et étirements

Consultez votre médecin pour établir un plan de traitement.

an illustrated bottle of Aleve® inside a yellow circle
Médicaments

Les médicaments sur ordonnance et les médicaments en vente libre comme ALEVE® peuvent aider à soulager la douleur au genou lorsqu’ils sont utilisés conformément aux directives. Cependant, n’oubliez pas de toujours consulter votre médecin avant de prendre un médicament.

la glace et la compression peuvent réduire l’enflure
Glace et compression

La compression de la zone atteinte au moyen de bandages et l’application de glace pendant 10 minutes, trois ou quatre fois par jour, peuvent aider à réduire l’enflure au minimum.

injections de corticostéroïdes pour soulager la douleur à long terme
Injections

Il peut s’agir d’injections de stéroïdes pour un soulagement à long terme de la douleur, de liquides imitant le liquide naturel qui lubrifie le genou ou, encore, de plasma riche en plaquettes pour réduire l’inflammation et favoriser la cicatrisation.

illustration d’un médecin dans un cercle jaune
Chirurgie

Dans certains cas, la chirurgie peut être la meilleure option, mais elle n’est habituellement envisagée qu’après avoir fait l’essai d’une variété d’autres stratégies. Seul votre médecin peut prendre cette décision.

illustration d’une personne qui médite dans un cercle jaune
Traitements de soutien

Voyez les autres choses que vous pouvez faire pour compléter votre traitement et soulager votre douleur au genou. 

CONSEILS À METTRE EN PRATIQUE DÈS MAINTENANT

Maintenir un poids santé

Conseil 1 de 3

Un surpoids peut exercer une pression supplémentaire sur les articulations et exacerber la douleur au genou. Même une perte de poids de 5 % peut être bénéfique et réduire la tension sur les genoux. Si vous croyez qu’il serait salutaire pour vous de perdre du poids, discutez avec votre médecin d’un programme raisonnable de perte de poids.

Renforcez votre tronc

Conseil 2 de 3

Le raffermissement du tronc (muscles abdominaux, dorsaux et pelviens) peut aider à maintenir les genoux en bonne position afin d’éviter que l’articulation soit comprimée et douloureuse. Il existe un certain nombre d’exercices pour aider à renforcer le tronc, notamment le yoga, la technique Pilates et le kick-boxing. De concert avec votre médecin ou un physiothérapeute, déterminez quels exercices pourraient être bénéfiques pour vous.

Maintenir une compression sur le genou

Conseil 3 de 3

Si vous remarquez que votre genou est enflé en plus d’être douloureux, une compression pourrait accélérer le rétablissement. Enveloppez votre genou dans un bandage élastique (par exemple un bandage Ace). Le bandage ne permettra pas de protéger ni de stabiliser votre genou, mais il devrait réduire l’enflure. Prenez soin de ne pas trop serrer le bandage, car cela pourrait accroître l’enflure.