Understanding Back Pain | ALEVE® Canada
Switch Language

UNDERSTAND PAIN

Understanding Back Pain

Whether back pain comes as a surprise or begins to occur on a regular basis, it can feel as though your life is being put on hold. The more you learn about back pain, the better you can manage it on your terms.

man sitting at a desk on his laptop with his hand on his chin

THE GOOD NEWS IS THAT SOME BACK PAIN IS EASILY TREATABLE. LET YOUR DOCTOR EVALUATE YOURS.

WHAT IS BACK PAIN?

If you suffer from back pain, you’re far from alone — about 8 in 10 people will experience back pain at some point. In fact, in the United States, back pain is the number one cause of disability in men over age 45, and it’s the second most common reason people visit the doctor. 

You can experience pain in the upper or lower back, on the left or right side — it can even radiate from one spot to another area of the back or body. Back pain is either acute (lasting from a few days to a few weeks) or chronic (lasting for more than three months). Acute back pain is more common and usually caused by some type of accident, like a fall or sports injury.

8 in 10 people will experience back pain at some point.

WHAT CAUSES BACK PAIN?

A number of different factors can cause back pain. Some of the most common causes are:

  • Strained back muscles or ligaments
  • Bulging or ruptured discs (the cushions between the vertebrae, or spinal bones)
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Severe scoliosis
  • Osteoporosis

Each of these conditions are known to cause pain. See your doctor to get a diagnosis and develop a treatment plan just right for you. ALEVE® is indicated for the temporary relief of aches and pains.

HOW CAN I GET RELIEF FROM BACK PAIN?

When it comes to back pain relief, there’s good news — most back pain can be treated without surgery. However, what works for one person might not work or be right for another. So, it’s important to talk to your doctor about your options. In the meantime, here are a few things that can provide back pain relief.

illustration of a bed
Rest

We know it can be challenging for go-getters to sit around and do nothing, but bed rest — for a day or two at most — can be an effective method for relieving back pain.

an illustrated bottle of aleve inside a yellow circle
Exercises and stretches

Proper exercises to strengthen the muscles around the area in pain, and stretching to keep the tendons flexible, can provide relief.

an illustrated bottle of aleve inside a yellow circle
Medication

Prescription and over-the-counter medications, like ALEVE®, can help ease back pain when used as directed. Just make sure you always check with your doctor before taking any medication.

TIPS YOU CAN USE RIGHT NOW

The first 72 hours

Tip 1 of 4

Take it easy on your back as soon as you sustain an injury to give it a chance to heal. Rest and over-the-counter medications like ALEVE® can help with back pain. If your pain gets worse or you are not feeling better after three days, talk to your doctor.

Ice and heat at the right times

Tip 2 of 4

As soon as possible following a back injury, ice for up to 20 minutes, several times a day. After two to three days of cold treatment, switch to heat for brief periods to relax muscles and increase blood flow. A warm bath can also help.

Take it easy, but not too easy

Tip 3 of 4

Give your back some rest, but only for a few days. Continuing your daily activities as soon as possible can give your back better flexibility than resting in bed for a week. In fact, bed rest for too long could make back pain worse and lead to other complications, like depression, decreased muscle tone and blood clots in the legs.

Develop an exercise routine

Tip 4 of 4

Regular exercise can help speed up recovery after an injury and strengthen back and abdominal muscles. Check with your doctor or physical therapist first, but some gentle exercises you might try are swimming, walking, strengthening and yoga. Mild pain is normal at the start of exercise, but if it feels worse than mild or lasts more than 15 minutes, stop exercising until you talk to your doctor.

Switch Language

COMPRENDRE LA DOULEUR

Comprendre le mal de dos

Que votre mal de dos survienne soudainement ou sur une base de plus en plus régulière, il peut vous donner l’impression qu’il vous empêche de vivre. Plus vous en saurez sur le mal de dos, mieux vous serez en mesure de le maîtriser.

man sitting at a desk on his laptop with his hand on his chin

LA BONNE NOUVELLE, C’EST QUE CERTAINS MAUX DE DOS PEUVENT FACILEMENT ÊTRE TRAITÉS. PARLEZ-EN À VOTRE MÉDECIN.

QU’EST-CE QUE LE MAL DE DOS?

Si vous avez des maux de dos, sachez que vous n’êtes pas le seul – environ 8 personnes sur 10 souffrent de mal de dos à un moment ou à un autre. En fait, aux États-Unis, le mal de dos est la principale cause d’invalidité chez les hommes de plus de 45 ans, et le deuxième motif de consultation d’un médecin.  

Vous pouvez ressentir une douleur dans le haut ou le bas du dos, à gauche ou à droite. La douleur peut même irradier vers une autre région du dos ou de votre corps. Le mal de dos est soit aigu (s’il dure de quelques jours à quelques semaines), soit chronique (s’il dure pendant plus de trois mois). Le mal de dos aigu est plus fréquent et généralement causé par un traumatisme quelconque, par exemple une chute ou une blessure sportive.

De huit à dix personnes ressentiront des maux de dos à un moment ou l’autre de leur vie.

QU’EST-CE QUI CAUSE LES MAUX DE DOS?

Divers éléments peuvent causer des maux de dos. En voici quelques-uns :

  • Claquage musculaire ou déchirure d’un ligament du dos 
  • Bombement ou rupture de disques (coussinets entre les vertèbres ou os de la colonne)
  • Arthrose
  • Scoliose importante 
  • Ostéoporose 

Chacune de ces affections cause de la douleur. Consultez votre médecin pour obtenir un diagnostic et élaborer un plan de traitement qui vous convient. ALEVE® est indiqué pour le soulagement temporaire des maux et des douleurs.

COMMENT SOULAGER LES MAUX DE DOS? 

Voici une bonne nouvelle pour les personnes qui éprouvent des maux de dos : la plupart des maux de dos peuvent être traités sans chirurgie. Cependant, ce qui fonctionne chez une personne peut ne pas être efficace chez une autre. Il est donc important de parler avec votre médecin pour connaître les options qui s’offrent à vous. Dans l’intervalle, voici quelques conseils qui pourraient vous aider à soulager vos maux de dos :

illustration d’un lit
Repos

Il peut être difficile pour les personnes actives de ne rien faire; sachez toutefois que l’alitement, pendant une journée ou deux tout au plus, peut être efficace pour soulager les maux de dos.

an illustrated bottle of aleve inside a yellow circle
Exercices et étirements

Des exercices appropriés pour renforcer les muscles entourant la zone douloureuse et des exercices d’étirement permettant de maintenir la flexibilité des tendons peuvent procurer un soulagement.

an illustrated bottle of aleve inside a yellow circle
Médicaments

Les médicaments sur ordonnance et les médicaments en vente libre comme ALEVE®, peuvent aider à soulager les maux de dos lorsqu’ils sont utilisés conformément aux directives. Assurez-vous de toujours consulter votre médecin avant de prendre un médicament.

CONSEILS À METTRE EN PRATIQUE DÈS MAINTENANT

Les 72 premières heures

Conseil 1 de 4 

Ménagez votre dos dès que possible après avoir subi un traumatisme afin de lui donner la chance de guérir. Le repos et les médicaments en vente libre comme ALEVE® peuvent aider à soulager les maux de dos. Si la douleur s’aggrave ou si vous n’observez aucune amélioration après trois jours, communiquez avec votre médecin.

Appliquer de la glace et de la chaleur aux moments appropriés

Conseil 2 de 4

Le plus tôt possible après un traumatisme au dos, appliquez de la glace pendant au plus 20 minutes, plusieurs fois par jour. Après deux ou trois jours de traitement par le froid, appliquez de la chaleur durant de brèves périodes pour détendre les muscles et augmenter le flux sanguin. Prendre un bain chaud peut aussi être bénéfique.

Se la couler douce, mais pas trop 

Conseil 3 de 4 

Laissez à votre dos le temps de se reposer, mais seulement pendant quelques jours. La reprise de vos activités quotidiennes le plus tôt possible est meilleure pour la flexibilité de votre dos que le repos au lit pendant une semaine. En fait, l’alitement pendant une trop longue période pourrait aggraver la situation et entraîner d’autres complications telles que la dépression, la diminution du tonus musculaire et la formation de caillots sanguins dans les jambes.

Établir un programme régulier d’exercices 

Conseil 4 de 4 

L’activité physique régulière peut accélérer le rétablissement après un traumatisme et renforcer vos muscles dorsaux et abdominaux. Bien que vous deviez consulter d’abord votre médecin ou un physiothérapeute, vous pourriez essayer certains exercices légers comme la natation, la marche, les exercices de renforcement et le yoga. Il est normal de ressentir une légère douleur au début de l’exercice; cependant, si la douleur augmente ou dure plus de 15 minutes, cessez vos exercices tant que vous n’aurez pas consulté votre médecin.